Data products

TROLIX'19 Campaign

TROLIX’19 – TROpomi vaLIdation eXperiment 2019

A TROPOMI validation campaign will be held in the Netherlands based at the Cabauw research site starting  in September 2019.

The goal of this geophysical validation campaign is to make intensive observations in the TROPOMI domain in order to be able to establish the quality of the L2 data products under realistic conditions, i.e. under non-idealized conditions with varying cloud cover and a range of atmospheric conditions. The focus will be on the TROPOMI L2 main products. For the study ground based observations will be made that can be directly compared to the TROPOMI L2 data prodcuts, as well as measurements of parameters related to a-priori data and auxiliary parameters that influence the quality of the L2 products such as aerosol and cloud profiles and in-situ aerosol and atmospheric chemistry. The observations will be focused around the Cabauw site with observations carried out mainly from the ground, but airborne observations may be included as well. 

The initial campaign plan is as follows (and may be subject to minor change):

- Mon 26 Aug through Fri 30 Aug:   Set up

- Mon 02 Sep through Fri 06 Sep:  Warm-up, testing phase

- Mon 09 Sep through Fri 27 Sep:  Intensive observation period

- Mon 30 Sep through Sun 06 Oct:  Possible extension

- Mon 07 Oct through Fri 11 Oct: break-down

For further inquiries and requests, please contact:

Arnoud Apituley - campaign lead (apituley [at] knmi.nl)

Karin Kreher - campaign support (karin.kreher [at] bkscientific.eu)